Letters to our Daughters | May

Dear Gigi,

You have been growing by leaps and bounds over the past couple of months. Somewhere along the way you have moved from toddler to my spunky little girl. Once you were potty trained, I promised I would take you to Build a Bear so you could make yourself an “animal baby” just like Landon has. Finally we got to the mall, just you and I, for our Build a Bear date. We had so much fun! I didn’t get many photos of you actually building your bear, mainly because I wanted us to do this together…I wanted you to remember Momma helping you not the lady at the store!

You picked out your monkey proudly after studying every single one of their options. You then declared that she will wear a princess dress and appropriately be named “princess monkey.” I just love how literal you are when you are naming your dolls and other “friends.” I have learned to tell you that your dolls come with a name or they become simply “bitty baby” or “baby Alive.” But it’s cute and I kind of love that you call her Princess Monkey! You were so sweet there (and I kind of want to take you again now that you know what to expect so that I can get photos…) but wanted me right at your side the whole time. It always makes a momma feel loved when you need us.

Once we had princess monkey SAFELY home

IMG_6248

You actually asked me to take some pictures of you and Princess Monkey, so while I took some standard images, I decided to try something new. I had fun, you had fun and I hope that you remember every moment of this day the same way I do. In reality, I know that your memories will be a bit fuzzy so maybe this IS exactly how you will remember twirling with princess monkey…

IMG_6271

IMG_6292

IMG_6299

IMG_6300

IMG_6325

IMG_6326

IMG_6331

P.S. You made sure to pick her out some lovely “big girl” underwear, because of course she is potty trained, just like you!

As a mother and a photographer I am lucky to have found other women who share my passion. Their images and words resonate with me and this project has allowed us to share our stories with each other. Please continue over to read Jennifer’s letter to her sweet daughters.

2 thoughts on “Letters to our Daughters | May

Leave a Reply

